Inspired: ‘Protect-Her’

Last night’s post left a bad taste in my mouth – I almost regret posting it but oh well what’s done is done.

I was so grateful to wake up this morning to a continued message from one of my really good friends from middle and high school whom I’ve played every sport with since we met (except she also played in soccer which I am so terrible at and literally kicked butt in Tae-Kwon Do with a black belt).

I came across a mini-documentary made on her last week and it moved me to tears.  She was always the top of our class, valedictorian, strong-willed, athletic, faithful to her religion and just one of those people you KNEW were meant for great things and will eventually become prime minister one day (hahah).

She is still kicking ass and taking names – in Med school and the founder of an amazing organization called ‘Protect-Her’ aimed to empower youth and women through martial arts while STILL being faithful to their religion.  This could not have come at a more perfect time.

Her video is not listed on YouTube so I couldn’t load it directly here -only those with the link can see it.  Please click and watch the whole thing.

watch?v=SiMBOiBfaaY&feature=BFa&list=PL1C7900B6CC5B696A

Yeah, she’s actually my friend.

Ryhana, thank you for being consistently inspiring in everything that you do and everything that you are!  You have always been such a great role model to me and everyone else around you …. so grateful to know someone as powerful, determined and beautiful as you.  I have so much to learn.  Masha’Allah! ;)

One thought on “Inspired: ‘Protect-Her’

  1. Pingback: Eid Mubarak! | This is [BLAM] I am.

Leave a Reply

